Jaeger-LeCoultre Honors Paolo Sorrentino

Jaeger-LeCoultre Honors Paolo Sorrentino

May 12, 2017

Jaeger-LeCoultre and Finch & Partners are pleased to announce that Italian director Paolo Sorrentino will receive the Annual Filmmakers Award at the Charles Finch Annual Filmmakers dinner. The event will be held on May 19 at the Hotel du Cap, Antibes.

Highly respected and celebrated for his many works, Sorrentino has written for a variety of platforms and outlets including television series, movies, short films and even a novel. He is no stranger to Cannes. In 2004 he received a nomination for his thriller The Consequences of Love and in 2006 his film The Family Friend was shown at the Festival. In 2008 his feature, Il Divo, was awarded the Cannes Prix du Jury. He is perhaps best known for his 2013 feature, The Great Beauty, which won him an Oscar, a BAFTA and a Golden Globe.

“It really is great to honor Paolo whose spirit both as an artist and as a man is greatly inspiring to me personally. His work encompasses the most important elements of life to me. Love, humor, passion and the unexpected of the spirit and fantasy,” said Charles Finch.

Previous recipients of the Filmmakers Award have included Nick Broomfield, Gus Van Sant, Alfonso Cuarón, Christopher Hampton, Bernardo Bertolucci and Bertrand Tavernier.

Now in its ninth year the Annual Filmmakers Dinner has become one of the most important and anticipated events during the Cannes Film Festival. The event draws together some of the film industry’s most-talented and celebrated individuals, during which the Filmmakers Award is presented. Previous guests have included Javier Bardem, Martin Scorsese, Julianne Moore, Rebecca Hall, Dominic West, Jake Gyllenhaal, Kevin Spacey, Mads Mikkelsen, Ewan McGregor, Robert De Niro, Rachel Weisz, Mick Jagger, Adrien Brody, Benicio del Toro, Ralph Fiennes, Gael García Bernal, and Naomi Watts.